top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturetaystudio

@metieressentials

Updated: Aug 23, 2020



Tierney Schiff is a college student and owner of @metieressentials, a jewelry brand featuring fine and semi-fine gold jewelry made for everyday layering. She started on Etsy four years ago as a freshman in high school and has seen tremendous growth in the past 6 months, recently surpassing 17k followers. Sustainability, ethics, and giving back are important to her business, she donates 10% of her monthly proceeds.



How did you come up with the name for your brand?

"I took French in high school and loved the language so much! The word 'métier' means “job” in French and has been anglicized to mean your calling/forte."

What’s your zodiac sign, enneagram, and Myers-Briggs?

"I am a Scorpio (although I don’t identify with any of the typical Scorpio qualities), type 2 (very accurate) and an INFJ."


What’s your favorite city to travel to?

"I absolutely love NYC! I definitely want to live there when I’m older."


What does your ideal morning routine look like?

"I am a morning person so although it may not sound appealing to some people, I love productive mornings where I get right to work. I always answer DMs and emails as soon as I wake up, ideally with a big glass of water. I’m not a big eater or coffee drinker (always decaf) until later in the day!"


Favorite daily habit that keeps you happy?

"My skincare routine! Every night. It makes me so happy, I always have dim lighting and music playing so it’s a great way to unwind."


What does your everyday hair, makeup, and outfit look like?

"I shower every morning and usually wear my hair down or in a bun. It’s very curly so if I do wear it down, it takes some time to style. Jeans and a plain T is my go-to and no makeup!"

What's your style like?

"Hmmmm, I would say my style is pretty simple, I don’t think I own anything with a pattern on it. But I jazz all my outfits up with tons of gold jewelry!"




What’s your go-to workout?

"My body does not like being forced to workout, HAHA. If I’m in the mood, I will do an at-home workout video or go on a walk, but mostly I just stretch before bed."


What was your life like growing up?

"I live in a pretty small town but I was always (and still am) very close with my family. I have three siblings and we all get along really well. "


What was your dream job as a kid?

"I wanted to be a fashion designer! I loved sketching clothes, shoes, etc. I loved anything creative/crafty though. I also love kids so there was a time when my dream job was a kindergarten teacher."


What were you like in school?

"I get pretty good grades but I never stay up late to study. I had an amazing organic chemistry teacher in my senior year of high school so that would have to be my favorite subject, although I am not sure I’d feel the same if I took it in college."

Advice to someone who wants to do what you do?

"What else is there to say except go for it! Whatever you’re passionate about, dedicate time to that every day. If you want to turn it into a business, go for it. Utilize social media and build a community of people who are as passionate about your products as you!"


What was your biggest struggle or lowest point in your career or life?

"All of my business failures have been great learning experiences but starting my bikini line was my biggest financial struggle!"


What are some things you do to get out of a bad mindset or to change a bad day around?

"Getting off Instagram, taking a long shower, doing a face mask, and spending time with my closest friends and family."


What is something you have accomplished that you never imagined you would?

"I think getting 10k on Instagram was something I never expected!!"


What’s your biggest motivation to do what you do?

"The fact that I can do what I love while also making other people feel more confident and beautiful with their jewelry AND giving back through monthly donations motivates me every day!"


Favorite quote and why?

"Ooooo, I feel like I have so many random ones but two I love are “Happiness, not in another place but in this place… not for another hour but this hour.” - Walt Whitman and “Judge nothing, you will be happy. Forgive everything, you will be happier. Love everything, you will be happiest.” - Jack Kerouac. They’re perfect reminders to live in the moment, be grateful for what you have and to spread love."


What about your business are you most proud of?

"My customer base! Somehow I got the kindest, sweetest, most supportive people following me on IG and purchasing from my website. I am so lucky!"


Where do you see you and/or your business going in the next 5 years? How do you plan on getting there?

"In five years I will be fresh out of college! That means finally I’ll be able to do Métier full-time. I really want to have a storefront someday and continue growing a loyal customer base that I can chat with in person!"


What is a cause or charity that you care about that other people might not know of?

"Their popularity has grown a lot recently but the Loveland Foundation is a charity I love and have donated to a few times. They provide therapy and healing to communities of color, specifically Black women and girls."




57 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page