top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturetaystudio

@serena_adelaide

Updated: Aug 23, 2020



@serena_adelaide is a makeup artist from a half Chinese, half native Malaysian background. She started her makeup journey five years ago at age 18 and in October of 2019 started her Instagram account that has nearly 7,000 followers. She loves being creative with editorial looks and also creating looks that are personal to her, such as expressing her bisexuality.


What does your ideal morning routine look like?

"I wake up around 7-8am, do my skincare routine while waiting for my coffee to brew. To be entirely honest my day would not start until I have my first sip of my cuppa’ haha."


Favorite daily habit that keeps you productive?

"Journaling/meditation. It’s not quite a daily habit yet but I’m working on this as it definitely brings me joy. I also enjoy reading in my spare time."

What’s your style?

"If I had to choose it would be edgy or cutesy. For example, I would either have an Iron Maiden shirt on or a Hello Kitty one depending on my mood."


What does your everyday hair, makeup, and outfit look like?

"I usually like to tie my hair up and sleek it down, I think it's fast, easy and it looks chic. Ironically, I don’t really like doing makeup anymore unless it’s for Instagram and I’m experimenting. I usually just put on SPF and conceal some spots. My outfit aesthetics really depend on my mood for the day. I do appreciate a grunge look but sometimes I love putting on a floral dress and feeling all girly too."


What’s your zodiac sign?

"I am an Aries and I can definitely relate to my sign although I don’t believe in astrology."


What’s your favorite city/area to travel to? Or dream destination?

"I am a little biased but Edinburgh, Scotland has got to be one of my favourite cities (I lived here for 4 years). Otherwise, I really enjoy Spain too (I lived here for a year) and my dream destination is Easter Island - I have a weird fascination with the rocks that got there."


What’s your go-to workout?

"I used to do yoga daily when I subscribed to my local yoga studio but since the pandemic, I haven’t been able to get myself to do it at home as much. I really enjoy the studio setting from the heat to the lack of distraction."


What was your life like growing up?

"I have to admit I grew up with a lot of privileges with one being able to study abroad but also never facing financial struggles up until I graduated. Despite all of these undeserved blessings, things weren’t always easy. I grew up in an environment where art and creativity were frowned upon and I remember burying this part of me as a kid to be one of the most painful things I’ve experienced. I never thought I would dig up the past and continue my creative passion now that I’m older, especially not through makeup but I guess life is full of surprises haha."


What were your goals or dream job as a kid?

"I remember one of my dream jobs was to write manga - this was heavily influenced by my group of friends who were also interested in it. We actually did make comics on cute little notebooks that had 5794810 stickers on it that used to be a thing back in the 2000s."

What were you like in school as a kid?

"I wasn’t the sharpest tool in the shed when I was in elementary school haha I got D’s for Math classes but that all changed in high school when my family made me focus on my academics and in particular, the sciences/STEM subjects. By high school, I was an all A’s student but I was miserable. My favourite subject would be art class of course but that’s not really considered a subject/class in Asia :)))))))) I must say my attendance in school has always been a little questionable and I think a lot of people who knew me growing up can testify to this haha but I did manage to graduate with a Bachelor's Degree so maybe attendance isn’t that important after all."


Advice to your younger self or someone who looks up to you?

"I would have liked my younger self to know that she was worth it and I wished she appreciated herself a little more and told herself that she could be loved. My general advice to anyone is to be kind (I know this is cliche yet it’s the kind of thing that’s said too much but not enough). However I understand how tough it can be as by the age of 20, most people are jaded by life itself but my advice would be to fight against taking the easy way out."


What was your biggest struggle or lowest point in your career or life?

"Most of my struggles are internal but they were made by external factors while I was growing up. I think the lowest point in my life was when I started to believe that my value was just a number/grade against the constructed system of success by A-holes."


Did you have moments of self-doubt? How did you overcome it?

"Self-deprecation and hate, not even self-doubt is something I’ve dealt with for over a decade. I suffer from body dysmorphia and never think I’m good enough for anything. I’m still on my journey of overcoming these issues and the good news is that in the last year or two, I finally saw a little progress just as I was about to give up on ever getting better. Yoga taught me self-reflection and this really helped shape a healthier mindset along with reading books about freeing yourself from yourself."


What are some things you do to get out of a bad mindset?

"Because I micromanage a lot of the things in my head, things get pretty chaotic by midday and to clear that up, I usually write down things that have gone well in the past few days or the day itself and prioritise the things that matter to me and how much progress I’ve made in keeping those things in my life. Also, I actively have to focus on not being too harsh about my progress and remind myself that a little is better than none."


What is something you have accomplished that you never imagined you would?

"Honestly I didn’t think I had it

in me to be a creative makeup artist as I haven’t been creative since I was a kid of age 9. I didn’t think I had it in me to continue the makeup page because I was filled with an abundance of self-doubt and I kept seeing all these amazing artists that’s been in the industry for years but I guess I surprised myself a little because I’m still working very hard on the page and I’m beginning to slowly chip away all the pent up doubt that I had initially with the help of a supportive community."


Favorite quote?

“The only way for me to be human is for you to reflect your humanity back at me.” -Chris Abani. There is a word in African called 'ubuntu' with this meaning that the English dictionary does not have. I think it is the most beautiful thing I’ve ever heard and I chanced upon this 10 years ago. I love it because it encompasses what I stand for - compassion and empathy towards others."


What is a cause or charity that you care about that other people might not know of?

"This question really got me thinking as I’ve never been active in one specific cause because I’ve been politically dormant until recently when the BLM came about. Of course I cared for a lot of causes that were fighting for the marginalised community, but because my focus was never aimed at one of them, it’s hard to say which one I really stand up for and put in the time and effort. This is something I’d like to change in light of 2020 and growing up a little more. I wish that I had started sooner but I was not in the right headspace to be doing so when I was younger. I do believe that you need to save yourself before others and I was doing just that."







38 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page